Blue tie or red tie? What would you prefer to see? Red?  perfect. 

AHHHHHHHHH! I’m just kidding. I’m riding BOLO.  See what I did there? Asked for your input, then put in a drawer next to my copy of “Hip Hop Abs” that’s also not getting used.

When you’ve taken the time to validate a behavioral breakdown of what motivates people, and you ignore it, you’re telling us exactly who you are

  • like the guy who wears the t-shirt of the band to see the band.
  • like guy who goes back to where he worked still asking for the employee discount. If they liked you, they’ll extend the offer, don’t ask for it.
  • like the girl who shows up to college, and takes the Overnight Phish Pill, and goes hippie in 24 hours
  • like the Winter Mountaineering Jacket you’re wearing that hasn’t seen sub-zero temperatures unless you count that look your mom gave you when you fell asleep in church
  • like the Uncle Rico, recounting previous fame that saw the Ronald Reagan administration in office. And none since
  • like the name dropper, who’s stories sound more like a table guide at the who’s who table. Even if they were just serving drank

Social media’s made it easier. We’re only showing what we want you to see. In business though, there are models, conversation structures,  employment histories of your staff, there’s a paper trail.

So, overhaul with the people you work with.

  • How do I win with you?
  • How do I lose with you?
  • On a scale from 1-10, how honest do you want me to be?
  •  If I seeing you doing something I disagree with, how should I approach you about it?   (this line of questioning was taught to me by a mentor and a boss, who’s a total boss btw).

Then go back and answer the questions from your behalf. You may be surprised that who you sit down with, isn’t the same person as who you stand back up with.

#YOLO #SOLO #BOLO

